Day 50: Wear Heart on Sleeve

19 Feb

Wordplay is one of my favorite things in life ever. I think puns are the cleverest things. I love it when idioms are interpreted literally. I think spoonerisms are a hoot! I don’t know why. These things just give me intense enjoyment.

So I decided that spending a considerable amount of time sewing a heart onto the sleeve of my favorite jacket just so that I can claim that “I am wearing my heart on my sleeve” seemed like an excellent way to spend a Saturday afternoon.

Interestingly, in the checkout counter in the fabric store I bought thread from, I stood next to Diana Eng from Season 2 of Project Runway. I really wanted to tell her that the camel dress she made for Chloe Dao’s final runway show was one of my favorite things out of the entire season. But I was too shy.

Anyway, here’s what I did.

Materials: a needle, some thread, graph paper, a pen, and my favorite jacket. You can use anything with a sleeve, really.

Step 1: Draw out a heart on graph paper and mark the outline with x's.

Step 2 (The Emo Step): Poke holes wherever there are intersecting lines within your drawing. This is not some metaphor for how love hurts. It's just a very important step towards transferring your pattern onto the fabric of your jacket.

Step 3: Affix your bit of graph paper onto the sleeve of your jacket with the needle.

Step 4: Poke your pen through the tiny holes of your heart, making sure to go through each and every single one of them, so that your sleeve is filled with pen marks.

Like so. Don't worry because all of this will be covered up eventually. I'm sure there is a better, less messy-looking way of doing this, but this way worked well enough.

Step 5: Cross-stitch. If you tell me you need more specific instructions for this step, I won't believe you. Everyone knows how to do this.

Using the tiny dots as a guide, cross-stitch the outline first and then fill in the rest of the heart afterward. This actually took me a long time to do. I watched the entire 2nd season of The Mighty Boosh from start to finish while doing this. It was not a bad way to spend the day.

The Finished Product

And a photo of me wearing the jacket just to show you how big my heart is.

The Week of Love may be coming to an end, but this heart will, erm, go on. (I’m sorry I couldn’t resist.)

See you tomorrow!

6 Responses to “Day 50: Wear Heart on Sleeve”

  1. karla February 20, 2011 at 5:18 am #

    eh bakit ang sipag mo! hahaha. good job nining

    • niña February 20, 2011 at 8:24 am #

      eh wala feeling ko ang genius nung idea ko e hahahaha (uy alam mo ba, dahil sayo, nagtitingin ako ng european schools kasi gusto ko biglang mag-masters hahahahahhaha)

      • karla February 20, 2011 at 9:54 am #

        GAMEEEEEE!!!!

      • niña February 20, 2011 at 9:57 am #

        hahaha it’s a nice thought pero imposible. i can’t leave America City for three more years.

  2. Klarisse February 20, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    im so happy you’re my friend 😀

    • niña February 20, 2011 at 9:59 am #

      wow. i don’t know what prompted this but yay.
      right back at ya, ayisse! :*

Leave a comment