Day 49: Babies are Love! (Part 2)

18 Feb

So I kind of felt bad that I made something for brand new baby girl Tala yesterday when I haven’t done anything for her big brother, Datu. Ever. And I’m supposed to be his godmother.

Datuface.

I know older siblings sometimes get jealous when there’s a new baby in the house for several reasons.  I don’t want to be one of them. So to show my love for my precious godson, and we all know that this is the Week of Love here at the Epic Year Project, I made something for him, too.

But first, a language lesson for my international readers. Of which there is exactly one (ola, leo!).

"Datu" is the Tagalog word for "chief." And this is what a datu looks like.

And now, the process!

Step 1: Doodle.

Step 2: Develop the concept. In this case, it's a heart that spells out D-A-T-U and also looks like one.

Step 3: Refine. Ink. Scan. Levels.

Step 4: Vectorize and color. I chose manlier shades of the colors I used in Tala's name yesterday. Because datus are manly.

And there you have it, E! Something for your other butt cheek (or Jaypee’s).

Give my love to your offspring. Equally!

I LOVE YOUR BABIES!

Leave a Reply

