Day 121: Unpopular Opinion Time

1 May

Let’s just get this out there. I am not jumping for joy because a person is dead. I understand that this person is responsible for the deaths of thousands of people and that makes him a very bad person indeed and that his death, to some people, means closure (which is a good thing) or even some form of justice. But I am not about to go out to a pub and mindlessly toast to the death of someone. I just wasn’t wired that way. I’m not going to judge the people who are celebrating May 1 as if it were an official holiday. I’m sure they have their reasons and they were probably family members of the 9/11 victims, or perhaps 9/11 survivors themselves.

I am, however, going to say that I am a bit baffled at these uninformed people who are bumping chests because America is so bad-ass hells yeah and hitting the streets with cardboard signs saying “Happy ‘Bin Is Dead’ Day” without really knowing all the facts and without thinking about the consequences of this major world event.

I’m not saying I’m an expert on these things. I am perhaps a bit on the under-informed side as well. So now I wonder. What does this change? Does it, in fact, change anything? Are they going to start bringing the troops back home? Is the war against terror/Iran/Afghanistan over? I don’t really think so. I know, from reading The Hunger Games and not from any sort of academic research (so what do I know?), that a figurehead, whether they have real power or not, is a very important piece in the war game. And so killing the figurehead is a huge blow to the campaign of ‘the other side.’ But this does not mean that other people are not ready to take his place. Surely, this death is going to have some serious repercussions. Surely, this does not stop more people from getting killed in this continuing war, and perhaps may even ensure more deaths. Is this really a cause for so much celebration?

Yes? No? Let’s start a conversation. Or not. Whatever  you like. But it’s something to think about.

EDIT:Let me just end this with the following bit of dialogue from the latest episode of Doctor Who. Because apparently, I cannot sustain the seriousface for very long and you will find that it is very relevant.

So hey, Doctor. Now that Osama Bin Laden's dead, we're safe again. Right?

The Doctor: Safe? No, of course you’re not safe. There’s about a billion other things out there just waiting to burn your whole world. But if you want to pretend you’re safe just so you can sleep at night, okay. You’re safe. But you’re not really.

Leave a Reply

