Day 83: Beer Ads

24 Mar

I just got home from a night out with people from the office and this was my first time drinking Stella Artois. And wow, was that a let down. I always had this image in my head of Stella as a sort of sophisticated beer with complex undertones and some shit. But I couldn’t have been more wrong. A workmate verbalized my sentiments perfectly when she said “it’s a step up from pee.” Oh and I just found out that in the UK, Stella is nicknamed “wife beater” because of its links to binge-drinking and aggression among drinkers. I shudder to think what they’d be capable of if they get their hands on some Red Horse.

So I decided to redesign some of Stella Artois’ old ads and repurposed their tag lines just so people know what they’re getting into if they want to drink this…drink. I can’t even call it beer now. I grew up with San Miguel (Pale Pilsen is the way to go, none of that Light bullshit) and that’s what I call beer. Stella does not deserve to be called the same thing. I’m really sorry if there are Stella fans among you. This is just how I feel.

I did not even have to edit this last one. This was an actual ad that ran in the UK. At least they're honest.

What I wouldn’t give for a bottle of Pale right now.

That is all! See you tomorrow!

2 Responses to “Day 83: Beer Ads”

  1. alice March 29, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    fuckyourface! I love Stella! STELLAAAA!!!

    Then again, I love my beer on opposite ends of the spectrum. It’s usually a toss-up between this and Negra.

    NEGRRRAAAAA!!!

    • niña March 29, 2011 at 10:18 am #

      STELLA IS WEEEAAAAKKKKK

Leave a Reply

