Days 71 & 72: Starry, Starry Umbrella

13 Mar

Look. I know I post stupid stuff here most of the time. But it in light of the recent earthquake/tsunami in Japan, it seemed insensitive for me to make the usual stupid drawing of a superhero or another stupid birthday card to a celebrity. So I thought I would make something pretty for once. And if I was going to do this right, I needed time to plan things and carry out the task in an un-rushed manner. It would have to be a two-day task.

Saturday was spent planning out the project. I knew what I was going to do. My sister has this umbrella made out of clear vinyl and it was just begging to be painted. It was just a matter of what to paint on the inside of it. And so I was thinking about pretty things or things that my sister likes. Like cherry blossoms or the color pink. But somehow it needed to be more. So I thought, “what is the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen in my entire life?” and the answer to that is this:

Vincent Van Gogh's Starry Night

And so when I decided that that was it, the rest of the day was spent with much self-doubt and whining at my sister. “It’s an impossible task! It can never be done! Etc, etc.”

This morning was more of the same. Until I just figured that it doesn’t have to look as good as the original. It just has to resemble it somehow. And so after I’ve set very low expectations for myself, it was very easy to just do it. I then set out on painting my version of Van Gogh’s Starry Night onto the inside of my sisters clear vinyl umbrella. Here are some pictures.

Materials: paint, umbrella.

When I realized I had to take pictures, I had already painted on the moon and all of the stars.

Blurry detail shot of the cypress trees.

The Finished Product: Side A

The Finished Product: Side B

What the inside looks like.

So there you have it. The Starry, Starry Umbrella. It’s not as awesome as the original but it looks better than I ever thought I could possibly make it. So hurrah.

That’s all, folks. See you tomorrow.

2 Responses to “Days 71 & 72: Starry, Starry Umbrella”

  1. gingerbreadram March 23, 2011 at 3:23 am #

    hey, neat! …but, where do you keep your weed? 😛

Leave a Reply

