Day 64: Beef Salpicao Yo

5 Mar

I know I’m probably setting feminism back a few decades by what I’m about to say. But all I really want to be when I grow up is a housewife. Or a house-husband, if Carey Mulligan would have me. I would love to just stay at home all day watching TV while my rich lover works for the money. Of course, I’d have to do the chores, but I find that I quite enjoy doing that now. I do have to work on learning how to cook more things though. I can fry like a true Scotsman, and I learned how to make risotto last month, but I still have a long way to go on the Proper Grown-up Food front before I deserve to prepare Carey’s meals. And what better time and place to learn than here and now? The answer is Culinary School and Ten Years Ago. But realistically speaking, here and now is it.

So here we go. Beef Salpicao yo.

Ingredients: Beef, garlic, olive oil, worcestershire sauce, crushed red pepper, butter and soy sauce (not in photo). Mushrooms are optional, but with me they are mandatory. Because I freaking love mushrooms.

Step 1: Chop all the things!

Step 2: Marinate beef in some olive oil, worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, and red pepper.

Step 3: Sautee garlic in pan with oil until golden brown.

Step 4: Add the mushrooms and a tiny bit of soy sauce.

Step 5: Dump the beef into the pan. Dump the marinade in too. Put everything in. We do not waste shit here in the Epic Year Project.

Step 6: After the beef has been cooking for a couple minutes, add some butter. Makes everything nice and shiny. As soon as the butter melts, turn the stove off and walk away. Cooking beef for too long makes it tough. It just takes a few minutes and you're done. Just walk away.

Step 7: Serve hot. Preferably on a bed of steaming rice.

Step 8: Feed to your sister.

Surprisingly, this dish turned out pretty goddamn incredible, I’m not even joking. It was so awesome, it should be called Beef Salpi-Holy Cow What Tender Beefy Heaven Is This. And now I am a step closer to becoming the perfect spouse for Carey Mulligan. Except she might be vegetarian, I’m not sure. Some other person then.

That is all. See you tomorrow!

4 Responses to “Day 64: Beef Salpicao Yo”

  1. karla March 6, 2011 at 12:41 am #

    dream ko din maging housewife! *apir*
    haha.

    nining, where are you applying in europe??

    • niña March 6, 2011 at 12:46 am #

      *apir* hahaha

      i’ve been looking at british schools mostly. and the netherlands. pero syempre i have to wait a couple of years more. i just got a job and i still have to stay here to get my passport. boo.

  2. Ayisse March 10, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    You’re so funny T____T ❤

    • niña March 10, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

      what the heck. but okay. T_____T

Leave a Reply

