Day 37: Show and Tell: Where I Live Now

6 Feb

Due to insistent public demand (mostly from my older sister back in the Philippines, hi manang!) I will now show you where my sister Erin and I live through some pictures that I took and some that I didn’t. Here we go.

We live on an island.

I haven't seen any zeppelins since I got here though.

In that island, there is a tiny village.

Graphics!!!

In that village, there is a street.

Numa-nighttime photography.

On that street, there is a white building.

Sumi-street photography.

In that building, there is a fifth floor, and on that floor is where we live. Only there is no elevator.

There used to be one but that's what it looks like now.

That’s about 10,000 flights of stairs that we have to walk up to get into our tiny closet of an apartment, which we share with a pastry chef/real live korean pop star and a film student studying at NYU.

The view from the fifth floor.

Our mailbox claims that the Beatles live in our apartment.

It was like that when we got here.

And now some Fun Facts about our neighborhood (or “The Real Reasons Why I Was Persuaded by My Sister to Move Here”).

1. The East Village is the birth place of punk rock. (Writing down that sentence just gave me chills.)
2. There are other fun facts (like how this is the setting for the musical Rent or how it has been immortalized in songs by Elliott Smith and Tom Waits, among others, or how W.H. Auden and Allen Ginsberg used to live here when they were still alive, or Andy Warhol, Jean-Michel Basquiat, etc etc etc), but basically, punk rock.

And that’s about it. But before I go, here are some of our neighbors.

This bird.

Manang Rosario, Ate Chloe, Tita Rachel

Kuya Conor, Danny Boy, Chi-chi

And Julian. Who may or may not have been the deciding factor in my graduate school choice two years ago.

Incidentally, the Strokes are coming back. I am very excited about this.

That’s all, folks! See you tomorrow!

5 Responses to “Day 37: Show and Tell: Where I Live Now”

  1. karla February 11, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Cool location. 🙂 Miss you Nining. Where do you work now?

    • niña February 11, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

      At a graphic design agency here.
      Miss you too! How long are you gonna be staying in Europe? 😀

      • karla February 12, 2011 at 4:06 am #

        2 years and maybe more if i get an internship after. eeep!!! *nervous*

      • niña February 12, 2011 at 8:59 am #

        hala that’s amazing! good luck! 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 93: What I Did on April Fools’ Day « the EPIC YEAR project - April 2, 2011

    […] know I talked about this before but Julian Casablancas is one of the reasons I am where I am right now, I’m not even […]

Leave a Reply

