Day 6: Practice Photography

6 Jan

I’ve never been a tourist in this city. I haven’t been to the Statue of Liberty or Ellis Island. I’ve never tried setting aside some time to look around and just take in how beautiful the place is. Which is a shame really because New York City has some pretty impressive architecture. When you see someone in the street holding a camera, more often than not, they have it pointed up at the buildings.

I suppose one reason I don’t take pictures is that I don’t have one of those fancy DSLR things that everyone and their mother has nowadays. A better, more honest reason though is that I am absolute rubbish at it. So I figured that this year, maybe I should learn how to take photos. I may not have your space age Nikons or Canons but what I do have is a can-do attitude and what they call a “digital camera.” So at lunch today, I took a walk, found myself in the vicinity of the Empire State Building, and decided to try and practice photography.

Don't worry. That's not King Kong. King Kong is, in fact, dead. That's just a regular gorilla.

I took around twenty photos of the building, just trying to get the composition right and I think this was the best one. It turned out alright, don’t you think? Not bad for a noob, if I must say so myself.

See you tomorrow!

7 Responses to “Day 6: Practice Photography”

  1. kznsci1 January 6, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    I thought it was a sloth.

    • niña January 7, 2011 at 12:00 am #

      it could be a sloth. a giant mutant sloth.

  2. Klarisse January 7, 2011 at 12:43 am #

    It might also be a gray frog with a smaller, mutated head because rivers these days are quite polluted.

    • niña January 7, 2011 at 7:59 am #

      yes it could be that as well. a regular old frog climbing up the Empire State Building.

  3. gingerbreadram * January 7, 2011 at 3:16 am #

    there’s so much ging on in your piece that you don’t know what to –JUST KIDDING!! im not really good at this myself. haha! good job for a noobie! galeng.

    • niña January 7, 2011 at 8:00 am #

      you see how i captured the emotion in the gorilla’s face? i think that was a one in a million shot.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 116: Springtime Photography « the EPIC YEAR project - April 27, 2011

    […] been quite a while since I last actively set out to practice photography. It’s been exactly a hundred days, in fact. And when you take as much time as that between practice sessions, I don’t think you really […]

Leave a Reply

