Day 3: Rhyme Time

3 Jan

I started my internship today. It was tiring. Also, we’re in the middle of moving into another apartment. So after work, I did that. No free time at all for me to even check my email. Much less, watch tv. Much much less less, do something productive. The tiredness is making my grammar like this. Blaaaargh. But I somehow managed to put together the beginnings of a story that I’m thinking of calling “Last Summer.” Here it is!

A long time ago, there once lived a young orphan
who dreamed about space exploration.
“Since I don’t have anyone left in this world,
I’ll live in an off-planet station!”

This boy’s name was Neil and he was really smart.
He got into space school for free.
He studied and trained hard and after twelve years,
acquired his spaceman degree.

He was quite ecstatic about his achievement
‘Cause soon he’ll be reaching the stars.
Imagine his joy when they told him that he
got picked for a mission to mars.

The crew would spend five years out on the red planet
for research and science-y stuff
to see if that world would be safe to inhabit.
“This mission will surely be tough!”

“We leave on the first day of autumn,” said Captain
“so y’all should just go home and chill.
And seeing as spring is just ending right now,
you have a whole summer to kill.”

The rest of the crew went back home to their families
but Neil didn’t know what to do.
‘Cause clearly, an orphan with no friends at all
had no one to come back home to.

That’s all I have so far. I’m so tired. Bleaeaeargh. See you tomorrow?

7 Responses to “Day 3: Rhyme Time”

  1. alicesarmiento January 4, 2011 at 2:22 am #

    I like this 🙂

    • niña January 4, 2011 at 6:55 am #

      yay thanks alice! 😀

  2. Klarisse January 4, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    I promise to comment on every one of your posts, Nining!
    Hehe, wait, where is your internship??:)

    • niña January 4, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

      askldjfha ayisse! i don’t know how to subscribe to lovestylefree cause i’m stupid and i can’t find the button. can you link me to the thing? thanks for promising to comment hahaha

      i’m interning for a branding agency called ink&co. 😀

      • Klarisse January 4, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

        Oh a branding agency sounds fun!! I am jealous, somewhat. I want design work too but I don’t have all that much to offer for anyone to take me in. Lol.

        http://lovstylefree.com ? RSS subscription? I’m not sure if this actually works: http://lovestylefree.com/?feed=rss

        Hehe 😀

      • niña January 4, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

        it is fun! you should try it. but only if you want to. 😀

        the link didn’t work. there’s a button that says subscribe to this blog in other blogs but i can’t seem to find it in yours. i am dumb.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Days 10 & 11: Birthday Greetings and a Rhyme Time Update « the EPIC YEAR project - May 9, 2011

    […] boy. It wouldn’t make much sense if you didn’t read the first chapter (which is over here), so go read that first. Done? Let’s continue, shall […]

Leave a Reply

