Day 1: Make this blog.

1 Jan

Hey friends. As you know, 2010 was a pretty epic year for me. I graduated from design school, spent four months partying non-stop, met amazing new people, and generally just had a blast.

This picture pretty much sums up how epic 2010 was: friends, dancing and laser lights.

Then I had to leave you again. This made me very sad. I turned to television and the internet to help get me through the day. Pretty soon, I was spending the entire day just watching stuff on my computer because it made me forget that I missed you. Consequently, I became lazy and stupid. And resigned to the fact that 2010 was the best year ever and 2011 can just go shove it.

Then I read something Neil Gaiman wrote years ago about how he wishes my new year would be filled with magic and shenanigans. He told me to make art and write and sing. And I thought, “What the heck. Challenge accepted.” And not only will I make sure to do those things this year, I will do them every day for the rest of the year. And I will share them with you, beloved friends, so you know what I’ve been up to in my little corner of the world (so far away from yours), and also so you could help me get through this whole thing.

So here we go.

To start the year off, my first task in this plan of making stuff and posting them in a blog is to make the actual blog.

This is not cheating. Making this blog look the way it looks has already taken me three hours. That’s three episodes of Doctor Who I could have re-watched. Believe me, it was very hard to force myself not to open VLC and just squee (this is a word) at Christopher Eccleston or David Tennant or Matt Smith. As far as I’m concerned, this blog is already a success.

Let’s just hope I could keep this up. For 364 more days.

Shit. What have I gotten myself into?

10 Responses to “Day 1: Make this blog.”

  1. charla January 1, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    hey, goodluck with this. everybody knows how hard it’s gonna be.

    • niña January 1, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

      hey, charla (charls?) thanks for the encouragement! 😀

  2. karla January 1, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    good luck, nining! yup, 2011 will be even more awesome. 😀

    • niña January 1, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

      yay! thanks karla! ❤

  3. Klarisse January 2, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    As promised!! I loved that Neil Gaiman quote. I wish my 2011 would be just as Mr. Gaiman wished for me, hehe. <333

    • niña January 2, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

      hello ayisse! thanks for commenting! i’m sure you’ll have a fantastic year. loved your new year video btw. ❤

  4. Petey Tommy January 2, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    Hooray for this!

    I shall join you in your quest!

    And I like the picture! 🙂

    Cheers to the epic resolution!

    • niña January 2, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

      huzzah! oh please blog about it! i wanna know everything you’re doing!

  5. gingerbreadram January 5, 2011 at 5:19 am #

    i feel you, man! SUPPORT!!!

    • niña January 5, 2011 at 9:04 am #

      thanks ramram!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

